Kids Device Match
Head to head

Apple Watch SE vs Gabb Watch: which is right for your child?

By Jason, father of two · Facts checked October 2026

We compared Apple Watch SE and Gabb Watch using each maker's official specs, checked October 2026. They differ on web browsing, whether you need an iPhone, emergency calling, and carrier. Choose Apple Watch SE if your family already uses iPhones. Choose Gabb Watch if you want no web browser at all (per Gabb).

Apple Watch SESmartwatchDrawing, not a photo
Gabb Watch 3e, front view, showing the time
Gabb WatchSmartwatchImage: Gabb

Choose Apple Watch SE if…

  • Your family already uses iPhones.
  • You want more service options (AT&T, T-Mobile, Verizon, Cricket Wireless, Xfinity Mobile, Boost Mobile, C Spire, Cellcom, BetterRoaming).
  • You want a watch that can call emergency services itself (Apple says it can).
Full Apple Watch SE profile

Choose Gabb Watch if…

  • You want no web browser at all (per Gabb).
  • You don't have an iPhone.
  • You're fine with a watch that can't call 911 itself (Gabb says it can't).
Full Gabb Watch profile

Side by side

 Apple Watch SEGabb Watch
TypeSmartwatchSmartwatch
Open web browserNot stated by AppleNo
Web risk (our rating) (differs)Low, with guardrailsNone, per the maker
CameraNone listed by AppleNo
Needs a parent iPhone (differs)YesNo
Can call emergency services (911) (differs)YesNo
Carrier (differs)AT&T, T-Mobile, Verizon, Cricket Wireless, Xfinity Mobile, Boost Mobile, C Spire, Cellcom, BetterRoamingStandalone Gabb plan
Starting hardware (differs)~$299~$229.99
Plan from (differs)Not published~$12.99/mo

Highlighted rows are where they differ. Prices are approximate and change often; checked October 2026. Confirm with each provider before you buy.

Pros, cons, and pricing

Apple Watch SE

  • Per Apple, parents manage Screen Time and Content & Privacy Restrictions from their own iPhone
  • Find My location with arrival and departure alerts, per Apple
  • Schooltime mode silences non-emergency distractions on a schedule, per Apple
  • Emergency SOS connects your child to emergency services, per Apple
  • Requires the parent to have an iPhone, per Apple; there is no Android support
  • Per Apple, standalone use needs the GPS + Cellular model plus a carrier's wireless service plan

Pricing: Per Apple, the watch starts from $249, and a child without their own iPhone needs the pricier GPS + Cellular model, from $299. That model also needs a wireless service plan from a carrier; Apple says to contact your service provider for details, so confirm the price with your carrier. Checked October 2026.

View at Apple

Gabb Watch

  • No camera, internet browser, or social media, and no traditional, addictive games, per Gabb
  • Up to 100 parent-approved contacts and GPS with Safe Zones, per Gabb
  • Water-resistant (IP68), per Gabb
  • Per Gabb, it needs a Gabb cellular plan, and most Gabb devices work only on the Gabb network
  • Per Gabb, the SOS button contacts your designated parent or guardian only, Gabb Watches cannot call 911, and GPS refreshes about every 15 minutes

Pricing: Per Gabb, the watch is about $230 plus a one-time $30 activation fee, on a standalone Gabb plan from about $13/mo with a 2-year contract (about $15/mo for 1 year, or about $18/mo with no contract). Gabb lists an early termination fee of $150 plus taxes if you cancel before the end of the 2-year term, or $100 plus taxes on the 1-year term, and says the fee decreases month by month later in the contract. Checked October 2026.

View at Gabb

Common questions

What is the difference between Apple Watch SE and Gabb Watch?

We compared Apple Watch SE and Gabb Watch using each maker's official specs, checked October 2026. They differ on web browsing, whether you need an iPhone, emergency calling, and carrier. Choose Apple Watch SE if your family already uses iPhones. Choose Gabb Watch if you want no web browser at all (per Gabb).

Does Apple Watch SE or Gabb Watch have a web browser?

Apple Watch SE: not stated by Apple; Apple documents a parent setting that limits web content. Gabb Watch: no web browser, per Gabb. See each device page for how its web access works.

Do Apple Watch SE and Gabb Watch need an iPhone?

Apple Watch SE needs a parent's iPhone to set up. Gabb Watch doesn't need a parent iPhone. That's according to each maker; the device pages quote them.

Which carriers do Apple Watch SE and Gabb Watch work with?

Apple Watch SE: AT&T, T-Mobile, Verizon, Cricket Wireless, Xfinity Mobile, Boost Mobile, C Spire, Cellcom, BetterRoaming. Gabb Watch: Standalone Gabb plan.

How much do Apple Watch SE and Gabb Watch cost?

Apple Watch SE: Per Apple, the watch starts from $249, and a child without their own iPhone needs the pricier GPS + Cellular model, from $299. That model also needs a wireless service plan from a carrier; Apple says to contact your service provider for details, so confirm the price with your carrier. (checked October 2026). Gabb Watch: Per Gabb, the watch is about $230 plus a one-time $30 activation fee, on a standalone Gabb plan from about $13/mo with a 2-year contract (about $15/mo for 1 year, or about $18/mo with no contract). Gabb lists an early termination fee of $150 plus taxes if you cancel before the end of the 2-year term, or $100 plus taxes on the 1-year term, and says the fee decreases month by month later in the contract. (checked October 2026). Prices change often, so confirm with each provider.

How we compared them

Every spec comes from the maker's or carrier's own pages, and each device page links to its source. “Choose if” points come only from specs that differ, not from our opinion, and no company pays to be included or ranked. How we verify

Related comparisons

Still deciding?

We match on your child's age, your phone and carrier, and your dealbreakers.